Polk County MO Subdivisions


Profiles for 22 County Subdivisions in Polk County Missouri

Missouri has 1,395 county subdivisions known as minor civil divisions (MCDs).  There are 311 townships in 22 counties with active, functioning governments, each governed by a trustee and board of directors. City township in Barton County has consolidated its government with Lamar city; the remaining 1,082 townships are nonfunctioning nongovernmental entities.   St. Louis city is independent of any township and serves as a county subdivision.

Counties with active, functioning MCDs:

  • Barton
  • Bates
  • Caldwell
  • Carroll
  • Chariton
  • Dade
  • Daviess
  • DeKalb
  • Dunklin
  • Gentry
  • Grundy
  • Harrison
  • Henry
  • Linn
  • Livingston
  • Mercer
  • Nodaway
  • Putnam
  • Stoddard
  • Sullivan
  • Texas
  • Vernon

Subdivisions in Polk County

Subdivisions that are also Incorporated Places have an asterisk(*) and the link takes you to the Community Profile for the Incorporated Place.

Puerto Rico’s Forgotten Island Vieques Needs Help

Puerto Rico’s Forgotten Island Vieques Needs Help

In the very early morning hours of September 20, 2017, the eyewall of Hurricane Maria passed over the tiny island of Vieques, Puerto Rico as a Category 5 hurricane, before moving westwards to mainland Puerto Rico. Maria ravaged the 60-square mile island with sustained winds of over 150 MPH and storm surges of over 12 feet, destroying homes, local businesses and causing widespread devastation.

Learn how you can help now!